30 Year Old Songs

November 30, 2012 at 9:03 pm 1 comment

Over at JayG’s site Marooned, I learned that Michael Jackson’s Thriller is 30 years old.  JayG was amazed that his 9 year old daughter knew all of the words to a 30 year old song and stated that he wouldn’t have known the words to a 30 year old song when he was 9 (in 1980).

I used my Google-Fu to find out that Gene Autry’s Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer came out in 1950.  I’m sure JayG’s little girl knows that song even better than Thriller.

So I decided to check on what songs were 30 years old when I was 9 (1973) – yes, I am older than JayG.

Hits of 1943:

As Time Goes By by Rudy Vallee

Paper Doll by the Mills Brothers

That Old Black Magic by Glenn Miller

Stormy Weather by Lena Horne

 

Entry filed under: Meme. Tags: .

I Might Be A Gun Nut Movie Review: The Hobbit – An Unexpected Journey (4 of 5)

1 Comment

  • 1. LC Aggie Sith  |  December 17, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    Heh! 1945 hits:

    Rum and Coca-Cola, The Andrew Sisters
    Sentimental Journey, Les Brown
    Til the End of Time, Perry Como
    It’s Been a Long, Long Time, Bing Crosby and Les Paul Trio


Archive


