Kindle Fanboy

April 18, 2012 at 9:27 pm 2 comments

Saw where W.O.R.M. asked for advice about getting a Kindle and my comment kind of got out of control.  So I thought I’d turn it into a post.

Here you go:

I admit:  I am a Kindle fanboy.
I bought mine 1.5 years ago and love it.  I bought my wife one for Christmas.  I bought my mother a 3G Kindle because she doesn’t have internet.  We recently added a Kindle Fire to try out.
I am definitely a bibliophile.  As I’ve gotten older, I found that after reading all day at work (computer and paper documents) I was getting headaches from eyestrain.  With the Kindle, I boost the font size and can still enjoy recreational reading even after a full work day.
You can get free public-domain books from Gutenberg Press (many are available via Amazon).  If you like SF, Baen.com has a free library of books and short stories to get you hooked on their authors – PLUS, Baen sells their ebooks at lower prices than Amazon.
Amazon also makes it incredibly easy to self-publish and a lot of people are taking advantage of that – most at $0.99 to $3.99 each.  AND you can download a sample prior to purchasing just like you can for ebooks from the mainstream publishers.
Of course not all is roses.  Many mainstream publishers are milking ebooks like a cash cow.  You usually have to pay full suggested retail while the paperbacks are often discounted (like they usually are at Walmart and Target).  Amazon tried to set a maximum $9.99 price a few years ago and ended up losing the argument to the big publishers.
My wife and I have the Gen 3 (or keyboard Kindles).  They  have wifi, but not 3G and the battery lasts 3-5 weeks if you shut the wifi off when not using it.  We took them on a cruise last year and had no trouble reading them in direct Caribbean sunlight or in the cabin.  I’m still playing with the Fire and like it so far, but find that I’ve been more likely to play games on it than read a book.
Wow!  I should copy this and make it a post on my own blog.

Entry filed under: Books, Technology. Tags: .

Zimmerman If you ever have dinner with the Obamas…

2 Comments

  • 1. aretae  |  April 18, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    I agree. Also a Fanboy. We have one regular Kindle and a Fire in our house. Fire’s good for reading at bedtime in a dark room.

  • 2. wormme  |  April 18, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    I just dropped in to give another round of thanks!


Archive


