Zimmerman

April 12, 2012 at 9:07 pm

After commenting on this post over at Tam’s, I decided to repeat it here at my humble blog and maybe expand on it a bit.

( I still need to complete my review of The Hunger Games, but I was sick over the weekend and work has been pretty busy this week.  I’ll try to post it this weekend.).

First, read Tam’s post (always a good idea), and now for my comment:

We are constantly being told about how the Republicans risk alienating Hispanic voters because of their stand against illegal immigration, capital punishment, voter id, etc… yet I haven’t seen anyone – media or bloggers – concerned about alienating Hispanic voters by describing Zimmerman as a “white Hispanic” and persecuting him publicly and criminally for what was originally ruled self-defense.
I also haven’t seen anyone concerned about Hispanics rioting over his trial or conviction.
I guess only Republicans can alienate a voter group and Hispanics only riot over soccer games.

Starting in 2003, census data showed that Hispanics had become the largest minority group in the US.  As of July 1, 2009, Hispanics made up 16% of the population.  You don‘t have to look hard to find numerous stories on Hispanic support for Obama in 2008 and how Democrats hope to secure their continued support for 2012 and beyond.  But my Google-Fu apparently isn’t all that hot since I only found a single story concerned about the impact the Zimmerman case may have on that support and not a single editorial predicting riots, protests or basic “unrest.”

 

 

Entry filed under: Other, Politics. Tags: .

Hunger Games Kindle Fanboy


Archive


