Movie Review: The Woman in Black (4 out of 5)

February 11, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Just saw this movie with my senior offspring – her choice.  She has a thing for Daniel Radcliffe and I thought the trailer looked promising.  Daniel is the only “star” in the film, but he has a solid supporting cast.

The Woman In Black is a refreshing throwback to traditional ghost stories.  In an age of The Human Centipede, SAW, and remakes of everything from Friday the 13th to Nightmare on Elm Street, I really enjoyed watching a well told ghost story with tons of atmosphere, solid performances and plenty of well-played scares.  Experiencing this movie is like visiting an exceptional haunted house on Halloween.

In fact, my only criticism of the movie is that the scares are performed so flawlessly, that I found myself watching the background rather than focusing on Mr. Radcliffe’s fine performance.

If you’re looking for things that go bump in the night rather than chainsaws and buckets of blood, The Woman In Black may be what you’re looking for.

I recommend it.

(Note to the Feds:  I paid for our tickets and got nothing in return other than about 90 minutes of entertainment.)

Entry filed under: Movies/TV, Reviews. Tags: .

2009 Post: Freedom is a Loophole It’s No Wonder They Hate Us


Archive


