The Importance of Illusion

December 5, 2011 at 12:04 am 1 comment

My wife and I never had a “List”, but from early in our marriage we each had one celebrity that the other spouse had granted permission should the occasion present itself.  She had Sean Connery.

I had Catherine Zeta Jones.

Neither opportunity occurred.

We update our choices occasionally and sometimes we may have two choices each, but not really a list.  She kept Mr Connery as her primary choice until he was well into his sixties and I reluctantly dropped Ms Jones shortly after she became Mrs Douglas.

During the heyday of The X-Files, Gillian Anderson was my choice.  At least until I saw her on a late night talk show.  I don’t recall that she said anything remotely political, just incredibly stupid.  The illusion of Dana Scully was shattered and the fantasy was over.

I loved Catherine Bell as Major Mac MacKenzie.  And then she appeared on Howard Stern and revealed great enthusiasm for Scientology.  Another illusion gone.

I’ve always been attracted to smart, strong, beautiful women.  Unfortunately, most actresses aren’t particularly bright.  I’ve developed an aversion to learning too much about my favorite actresses for this reason.

After all, it’s the characters that create our fantasies.

 

Entry filed under: Movies/TV. Tags: .

Indiana Jones Dr Who

1 Comment

  • 1. Tam  |  December 11, 2011 at 11:48 am

    I’m not too fond of Russell Crowe, but the legate Maximus makes my elbows sweat.😀


Archive


