My First Car

October 18, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Nobody tagged me, but I saw this post at Borepatch and it gave me a moment of nostalgia.

1. What was your first car? Model, year, color, condition?

Silver 1977 Datsun (pre-Nissan) 200SX purchased in November 1981.  My dad and I had gone out to buy a Christmas tree when I stopped to show him the car I had my eye on (1972 Dodge Charger with 100K+ miles).  He wasn’t impressed with it, but we ended up visiting a couple of other car dealers until we found the Datsun.  I actually thought he was just testing the waters when he started bickering with the salesman and was pretty shocked when they reached a deal and shook on it.

2. What adventures did you have in it, good or bad?

With only 110 hp, I didn’t do much racing but it did corner very well.  And there was an old country road that crossed a culvert with a nice little hump that could get the Datsun airborn.

3. What happened to it, what’s the end of the story?

The car carried me through high school and 3 years of college.  During my 4th year, I came home for Thanksgiving (coincidence, I don’t think so) and my dad rode with me over to my grandmother’s house for the family feast.  During the ride, he noticed the … uh … excessive play in the rack & pinion steering and asked me to pull over so he could drive.  The next day we went shopping (for a Christmas tree?) and traded it in for my second car – a 1983 Mercury Capri, but that’s another story.

Entry filed under: Meme. Tags: .

Surprisingly Awesome (4 out of 5) Contrasts: Reduce Spending


Archive


