Surprisingly Awesome (4 out of 5)

October 8, 2011 at 10:25 pm 1 comment

After dinner tonight, I took my wife to see Real Steel.  She picked the movie – because of Hugh Jackman, of course (yes, he takes his shirt off).

For the guys in the audience, you had basically a replay of Rocky starring the Rock ’em Sock ’em Robots … and Evangeline Lilly (no, she keeps her shirt on).

As the post title indicates, the movie was surprisingly enjoyable.  Perhaps the best popcorn movie of the season.  Hugh Jackman channels a little Sylvester Stallone as a down-and-out robot wrangler who gets stuck with the son-he-never-knew after an old girlfriend dies.  Over the course of the film, he matures a bit and develops a relationship with the kid.  Pretty typical formula, but executed brilliantly.  Pretty silly premise (boxing robots) played straight and very effectively.  Both the wife and I enjoyed it a lot.

 

Entry filed under: Movies/TV, Reviews. Tags: .

The Tragedy of 9/11 My First Car

1 Comment

  • 1. AndrewPrice  |  October 13, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    mycroft, thanks for linking to my site!🙂

    I’ve been on the fence about the Jackman’s movie because I really do like him as an actor, but the marketing campaign has been really horrible. I’ve seen several trailers and literally have no idea what the movie is about from them except robot fights.


Archive


