Day 23 – Most annoying character

March 2, 2011 at 10:40 am 2 comments

The easy answer for this one would be …

… Dobby the House Elf, except that he redeemed himself surprisingly well in The Deathly Hallows.  When a character that starts out almost as annoying as Jar-Jar actually manages a heroic and emotional death, much may be forgiven.

So my thoughts turn in a different direction.

To a character that starts out likeable and heroic then gradually turns into a grating Mary Sue.  As I mentioned before, the first seven books of this series were exceptional, but with Blue Moon ( Book 8 ) Anita Blake began a rapidly accelerating descent into tedium

Apparently there are now 19 books and I have no reason to believe they’ve ever recovered.

Entry filed under: Books, Meme. Tags: .

Day 22 – Favorite ending/climax About the Daily Book Post Meme…

2 Comments

  • 1. The Good Greatsby  |  March 2, 2011 at 11:23 am

    The Chris Tucker character in The Fifth Element caused me to walk out of the theater and ask for my money back. That’s literally the only time I’ve ever walked out of a move.

    • 2. Mycroft  |  March 2, 2011 at 10:53 pm

      Excellent choice as the most annoying character in movies, but this meme is supposed to focus on books. An obvious misunderstanding since I’ve often included photos from the related movies. I’ll update summary post for folks that haven’t scrolled down that far.


Archive


