Day 21 – Favorite fictional romantic relationship

February 28, 2011 at 10:43 am 1 comment

No, I’m not picking The Princess Bride.  Frankly, Buttercup is a wimp.  My idea of a romantic relationship is when both the male and female are smart and competent.  Unfortunately, that doesn’t appear to be all that common.

… in books.

Believe it or not, I really liked the romantic relationship between Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger in the Harry Potter series.  Unfortunately, I also believe that is because I’m very fond of the characters and like the idea of their romance, because J.K. Rowling doesn’t do a very good job developing the romance in the books.

I don’t read books for the romance – I read them for the story, for the adventure.  I look for a strong hero or heroine that’s beset with conflict and if they happen to find love in the process, I’m good with that.  But the romance shouldn’t be the only conflict in the story, especially when it requires one or both characters to act in a stupid or uncharacteristic fashion.

The best that I’ve read lately would be in the works by Ilona Andrews, a husband and wife team that have created two separate and distinct series incorporating magic into our modern world.  The Edge series is good, but I favor their first series.

The chemistry between Kate Daniels and the King of the Beasts, Curran, works from their first meeting.  Andrews has also released a sort of short story “Curran” which is a retelling of several scenes from the series told from Curran’s point of view.

Entry filed under: Books, Meme. Tags: .

Just back from the Indy Blogmeet Day 22 – Favorite ending/climax

1 Comment

  • 1. pkg  |  March 5, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    I agree with you on Ron and Hermione’s romance in harry potter series. It is under stated for many years and develops firmly only in final book. But Rowling could have made it much better but then she might have deviated from main plot
    http://iandbooks.wordpress.com/


Archive


