Cue the Hysteria

February 19, 2011 at 2:17 am

This is the first comment that I’ve made on this mess.  I want to start by saying that Robb Allen expresses my opinion better on the matter than I can.  But I’m going to stick my foot in it anyway.

I respect a number of the bloggers that have their panties in a wad, but the hysteria around the Wisconsin OC stunt reminds me of two other incidents – one that happened quite recently and one from a couple of years ago.

First, should every self-respecting gunowner have denounced TJIC  because he occasionally made outlandish posts?  After all, they were practically designed to scare the white people, right?  Any average person reading about his desire to lynch those hard-working politicians might decide all gunowners really are nuts and There Oughtta Be A Law (TOBAL).  zOMG,We could all lose our rights!

Second, why did everyone jump on poor Zumbo?  After all, EBRs really are scary looking to the average person.  An AR-15 looks like an M-16, so most average folks think they are machine guns (I posted before about my father-in-law, a Vietnam Vet and hunter, who thought they were the same thing and should be banned).  Zumbo talked smack about ARs and many of these same folks jumped all over him.  They weren’t nice.  They weren’t persuasive.  Many were set to cancel subscriptions and never buy from Remington again.  I believe that was the first time I’d ever heard the term “Fudd.”

My point is that for a bunch of gunowners, we’re extremely gun-shy.  Sometimes we over react out of fear that the government will pass a law that takes away our rights.  What we need to remember is that the government can violate our rights, but they can’t take them away because our rights do not originate from the government.  The Bill of Rights was written to secure our rights, not to establish them.  Slavery wasn’t a good thing before the 13th Amendment even if it was legal.

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. — That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed,

Our rights existed prior to the Bill of Rights, prior to the Constitution, prior to the Magna Carta and prior to the first village brute that declared himself king.  They can be violated.  They can be ignored.  They cannot be repealed.

I hope I didn’t offend anyone.

TJIC will remain on my sidebar and I await the day that link works again.  I like that he gets riled up – reminds me of Sam Kinison.

Entry filed under: Firearms. Tags: .

Day 12 – A book you’ve read more than twice No Bias Here


Archive


