Day 10 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving

February 15, 2011 at 10:00 am 1 comment

One benefit of being an adult is that – for the most part – I only read what I want to read.  However, being a parent occasionally negates that benefit.  I often read books to insure they are appropriate for my children, though those days are drawing to a close.

One such book was quite popular and my daughter wanted to read it, though her reading abilities at the time weren’t quite up to the task.  So, as any father might, I began to read it to her each night at bedtime.  We worked our way through the subsequent books in the series until, alas, my daughter no longer required my assistance.  By that time, we would often argue over who got to read the new book first and at least once, we bought two copies.

 

 

 

So my intense gratitude to Ms Rowling for many hours of pleasure.

Entry filed under: Books, Meme. Tags: .

Day 09 – Best scene ever Day 11 – A book that disappointed you

1 Comment

  • 1. About the Daily Book Post Meme… « Mycroft HOLMES 4  |  February 24, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    […] you don’t like ◦Day 08 – Your favourite work in translation ◦Day 09 – Best scene ever ◦Day 10 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving ◦Day 11 – A book that disappointed you ◦Day 12 – An book you’ve read more than twice […]


Archive


