Day 09 – Best scene ever

February 14, 2011 at 9:12 pm 1 comment

Determining the best scene of all the books that I’ve read is difficult.  There are many memorable scenes that I love:

  • the death of Mike in The Moon is a Harsh Mistress
  • Ender realizing that he’s committed genocide in Ender’s Game
  • the showdown between Eowyn, Merry and the Witch-King in LOTR

… and countless others.  I can’t explain the exact criteria for this topic.

Emotional – yes.

Realistic – yes.

Grabbing you by the throat and punching you in the gut – definitely.

When Saltheart Foamfollower carries Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever through the lava flow of Hotash Slay, I could feel it in my bones.  Even now, thirty years after reading that scene, I still recall the anguish and determination that the kindly giant felt as he struggled step by step to bear the Unbeliever to the other side.

I haven’t read the Thomas Covenant books but once (and only the first two trilogies), but that scene sticks with me.

Entry filed under: Books, Meme. Tags: .

Day 08 – Your favourite work in translation Day 10 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving

1 Comment

  • 1. About the Daily Book Post Meme… « Mycroft HOLMES 4  |  February 24, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    […] writer ◦Day 07 – A writer you don’t like ◦Day 08 – Your favourite work in translation ◦Day 09 – Best scene ever ◦Day 10 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving ◦Day 11 – A book that […]


Archive


