Day 07 – A writer you don’t like

February 9, 2011 at 8:38 pm 1 comment

There are a lot of bad writers that I don’t like, so I don’t believe that would be a good topic for this post.  Instead, I’ll take it in a different direction and pick someone with multiple books that I’ve read, someone that others might pick as their favorite.

I read dozens of this writer’s books in junior high and high school, but few, if any, while I was in college.  Once out in the real world, I finally found time for pleasure reading again about the time that he came out with a sequel to his most famous work, of which I had found memories.  I bought it in hardback with my own hard-earned money, then sat down to relive past glories.

Ouch.  Reality bites!

The style of writing was more appropriate for junior high than adult.  The sequel also clumsily tied in many of his other lesser books.  The ending set up expectations for another sequel, yet to be published.  And then to add insult to injury, the Afterword by the author amounted to nothing but an infomercial for every other scrap of writing he had put out in the previous thirty years.

Have you guessed yet?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Isaac Asimov

(January 2, 1920 – April 6, 1992)

While I still have fond memories of several of his stories, I haven’t been able to read any of his books since Foundation’s Edge because of the bad taste it left behind.

And that’s why I don’t like Isaac Asimov.

Entry filed under: Books, Meme. Tags: .

Day 06 – Your favourite writer Well, That Didn’t Take Long

1 Comment

  • 1. About the Daily Book Post Meme… « Mycroft HOLMES 4  |  February 24, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    […] 04 – Your favorite book ever ◦Day 05 – A book you hate ◦Day 06 – Your favourite writer ◦Day 07 – A writer you don’t like ◦Day 08 – Your favourite work in translation ◦Day 09 – Best scene ever ◦Day 10 – A book […]


Archive


