Day 05 – A book you hate

February 7, 2011 at 9:29 pm 1 comment

This one is easy.  It’s the only book in good physical condition that I’ve ever thrown in the trash.  I hated this one to the point that I couldn’t in good conscious sell it, trade it or give it away.

I picked this one up, read a chunk of it and pitched it within a week.  This was years before I became a parent, so it was not parental objections.  It was a visceral reaction.

I remember picking up the book from the $5 discount bin at Waldenbooks.  I’d heard about the author, but had never ran across any of his writing.  I enjoy a good horror story.  The price was right – it was hardback – so I thought I’d give it a shot.

The prologue gave an indication of the disturbed mind behind the stories.  Lovecraft stories are disturbing on many levels, but I never suspected Lovecraft might have mental issues.  I soldiered on, but each successive story was more depraved and disturbing than the prior.  Lovecraft addresses unspeakable horror that drives men mad.  These stories simply sought out ways to disturb and disgust for the sake of shock value.

The book I hate:  The Books of Blood by Clive Barker

Entry filed under: Books, Meme. Tags: .

Day 04 – Your favorite book ever Day 06 – Your favourite writer

1 Comment

  • 1. About the Daily Book Post Meme… « Mycroft HOLMES 4  |  February 24, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    […] more people had read ◦Day 03 – Your favorite recent book ◦Day 04 – Your favorite book ever ◦Day 05 – A book you hate ◦Day 06 – Your favourite writer ◦Day 07 – A writer you don’t like ◦Day 08 – Your […]


Archive


