Day 04 – Your favorite book ever

February 6, 2011 at 2:45 pm 1 comment

This post is a difficult one.  Like asking for a favorite movie, the answer often varies depending on the mood at the time.  Is your favorite one like comfort food?  The one you choose when you’re tired, ill, or just worn out and need something to recharge.  Or is your favorite the one that changed your life, splitting the before from the after?  Does your favorite make you laugh?  Or cry?  Both?

When my wife heard the topic for today’s post, she laughed.  She knew who the author would be, but not which specific novel.  I grew up with Heinlein and he had a huge impact on my life.  My favorite of his books is The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress, but is that truly my favorite book ever?

Or should I say the Holy Bible?  It is definitely life altering and I do enjoy many parts of it, but some of the books are mind-numbing to get through.  Is it bad for a Christian not to have the Bible as his favorite?

I stated before that Dune by Frank Herbert is the greatest science fiction novel that I’ve ever read, but is that enough to make it my favorite?

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card is a book that I’ve read multiple times.  As is The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien.  And The Legacy of Heorot (though I didn’t like the sequel) by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournell.  And Lucifer’s Hammer, also by Niven and Pournelle.

And how do you compare any of these to each other?  Or to Mark Twain?  Or Shakespeare?  Or Alexander Dumas?

An impossible question.

I suppose you could go with the deserted island scenario, but then I’d just pick the longest book and that doesn’t really address the gist of the topic.

So what is my favorite book ever?  The only answer that I have is all of the above.

 

Entry filed under: Books, Meme. Tags: .

Day 03 – Your favorite recent book Day 05 – A book you hate

1 Comment

  • 1. About the Daily Book Post Meme… « Mycroft HOLMES 4  |  February 24, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    […] ◦Day 02 – A book that you wish more people had read ◦Day 03 – Your favorite recent book ◦Day 04 – Your favorite book ever ◦Day 05 – A book you hate ◦Day 06 – Your favourite writer ◦Day 07 – A writer you […]


Archive


