What a crowd!

January 15, 2011 at 5:41 pm 3 comments

Just got back from the Indy 1500 Gun  & Knife Show.  In 20 years, I have never seen such a crowd.  The line to get in stretched from the doors to the corner of the building and halfway down the side.  They kept the line moving, so the wait was only about 25 minutes.

The crowd inside was shoulder to shoulder.  I have to say, gun owners are the nicest people on earth.  I lost track of the number of “excuse me”, “sorry”, “pardon me”, etc. after about 10 minutes.  Biker types, farmers, rapper wannabes, average joes, and families – a cross section of America.  I felt sorry for the little kids since they were trapped in a traveling forest of denim and camo.

I spent 2 1/2 hours moving as quickly as I could, skipping tables of clothes and memorabilia, focusing on a list of four objectives:  a pistol caliber carbine, soft-sided pistol cases, Crimson Trace grips and reloading supplies.

First objective –  I found 3 possibilities:

a new Beretta CX4 Storm carbine in 40 S&W for $699.  Not a bad price since they list for about $900. I found only the one in the entire show.

a used Ruger Police Carbine in 40 S&W for $495.   Private seller dispensing with his collection.  Ruger quit making these a few years ago.

a used Marlin Camp Carbine in 9 mm for $350.  Marlin no longer makes these either, but this one was in rough shape.

Second objective – I can get soft-sided pistol cases cheaper online, even including shipping charges.

Third objective – I found Crimson Trace laser grips for little Pelosi for $165.

Fourth objective – Primers are cheaper at Plainfield Shooting Supplies, powder was priced about the same as Gander Mountain and bullets are cheaper online.

So what did I buy?

While I really like the look of the Beretta Storm, the feel of the gun was nothing special.  The nice thing about the Storm is that it shares magazines with the Beretta PX4 Pistol.  So I wandered around until I found a couple of those to try.  Eh, no thanks – I’ll stick with the😄.

So I came home with the Ruger PC4.

** not my actual purchase.  I found this picture on an auction site via Google.

Now if only the weather will warm up so I can try it out.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Happy New Year 2011 ! ! ! I am TJIC

3 Comments

  • 1. Tam  |  January 23, 2011 at 10:57 am

    The Ruger PC’s are good, solid guns. Do you have the Ruger pistol to go with it?

    • 2. Mycroft  |  February 6, 2011 at 2:50 pm

      No, I prefer the Springfield😄.
      I did make it to the range before the Blizzaster struck this week. I only put 50 rounds through it since I was essentially throwing away the brass due to the snow.
      Little to no recoil and more accurate than I am.
      When the weather clears, I’ll take a bench rest with me and really put it through its paces.

  • 3. Mr. Second Amendment | World's Only Rational Man  |  January 23, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    […] But did he declare his vested interest? No sir, he did not. No wonder he defends Constitutional rights, he chooses to exercise them! How dare he? […]


Archive


