Belated Memorial Day Post

June 2, 2010 at 12:11 am 1 comment

I spent the weekend suffering from my worst allergy attack in years and as a result, spent very little time on-line.  After posting the Shrek review below, I realized that I did not post anything in remembrance of those that have given their lives for the freedom I and my family enjoy.

In Springfield, Missouri, is a National Cemetery that dates back to the Civil War.  I have been told (though I haven’t verified) that the Springfield National Cemetery is the only National Cemetery in the country that contains both Union and Confederate soldiers.

In the past, the graves of these soldiers were decorated with their respective battle flags on Memorial Day.  In the 1970’s and 1980’s, this practice became very controversial and I believe it was discontinued.

The cemetery has expanded over the years to include veterans of every other military conflict this country has endured.  My grandfather was buried there as a veteran of World War 1.  I have two uncles interned there as veterans of Vietnam.

God has blessed this nation with such men and women.

May it always be so.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Movie Review: Shrek 4 (3 of 5) Movie Review: Toy Story 3 (4.5 / 5)

1 Comment

  • 1. Brigid  |  June 5, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Why didn’t you call about the allergy thing. I would have happily come over with chicken soup laced with dog hair.

    Glad the bride made her trip safely and the young’uns are having fun.

    Thanks for the call tonight and I hope we can all meet up at the range in a week or two. Our Mr. RB called from the desert and I filled him in on the match.

    Big hug,
    B.


Archive


