Recoil Therapy 3/27/2010

March 27, 2010 at 9:38 pm 1 comment

Great day at the range this morning with Brigid and Range Buddy.  Brigid has a nice post up with some pictures proving that she’s a crack shot when properly motivated.  RB and I teased her a bit about her mail until that first shot (check her site – you’ll see which one).

Luckily, Brigid has a sweet disposition and is very forgiving.  After we had been shooting awhile, I handed her my little pocket pistol to try.

That’s a Keltec P3AT .380 acp.  Fully loaded with 6 +1 in the barrel, it weighs 11.2 oz fully loaded (see Jay G’s great post comparing the P3AT with a Colt 25 acp).

I did warn her to hold it tight and just use the tip of her trigger finger, but it bit her pretty hard anyway.  She fired one shot, handed it back to me and named the little pistol “the Nancy Pelosi – it’s little and it’s mean.”

While Brigid was trying out her new Savage, I dusted off my AR to try out a Tru-Glo scope I purchased recently.  The scope worked great – as long as it holds up (I only spent $60 on it).  After RB sighted it in for me (he is awesome with a rifle) and we all took turns trying it out.  While I was finishing up the second mag, a strange thing happened.

Double feed.

No harm to the AR, but that mag is going bye-bye.

Great friends, great weather and wonderful recoil therapy.

Entry filed under: Firearms. Tags: .

Movie Review: How To Train Your Dragon Happy Easter

1 Comment

  • 1. Brigid223  |  March 28, 2010 at 8:15 am

    Nancy P. can stay in your holster. Ow Ow Ow.

    But pretty accurate for having such a bad sight picture. 🙂

    It was great fun and, as always, you two were a blast to shoot with. Sorry you missed Dairy Queen after. Wyatt’s is still up and running and I managaed not to go in and buy another gun. At lesat til the house closes.

    I think it’s the magazine on that misfeed, that one really flexed at the top wherein the other one, that did not do that, was really stout.

    Just a thought.


Archive


