Government Healthcare: Reconsidered

November 4, 2009 at 8:32 pm 1 comment

There’s a popular saying among opponents of government-run healthcare that it will have the efficiency of the US Postal Service, the compassion of the IRS and the cost consciousness of the Pentagon.  While a vivid (and accurate) analogy, I believe that I have a better argument.

American Indians have a long history of legally binding treaties with the federal government.  These treaties have explicit conditions and benefits detailed in them for the government to provide.  Education, healthcare, and other services  have been provided to the various Native American tribes for over a century and history amply demonstrates the track record of Uncle Sam to fulfill his promises.

In other words, I don’t want the US Government in charge of my healthcare regardless of which political party is in charge.  And remember, in the long run it will be both of them.

Entry filed under: Politics. Tags: .

I don’t know where she gets it … Movie Review: The Proposal (4/5)

1 Comment

  • 1. Did it my way  |  November 5, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    I don’t want the government in charge of anything that controls my life. As a free American do I not have a choice?

    See Ya


Archive


