Exhausted

October 31, 2009 at 8:09 pm

Well, I completed the 2009 Indiana State IDPA Match and I’m beat.  I can only imagine how the range and safety officers feel about now.

The range opened at 7:30 am for registration.  The shooting started at 9:00 am and continued until almost 6:00 pm.  We had a bit of drizzle this morning, but it cleared up by 10:30, though it remained chilly for most of the day.

How’d I do?  Well, the scores haven’t been posted yet, but I started off pretty poorly.  I had 4 goals for today’s match:

  1. No procedural errors
  2. No shooting of the No Shoot targets
  3. No Failures to Neutralize
  4. Shoot at least 1 stage “clean” (no points off for poor accuracy).
  5. Finish in the top half of my classification.

My results:

  1. Two procedural errors – initiating a magazine change before I reached cover and using both hands for a strong hand only string.
  2. Two No Shoots – I guess I watched Speed too many times.
  3. Two Failures To Neutralize – one was a disappearing target and I don’t recall the other.
  4. Three stages shot clean out of nineteen.
  5. I’ll let you know when the scores are posted.

So 117 competitors firing a minimum of 151 rounds each for a grand total in excess of 17,667 bullets fired over a 9 hour period with no one being hurt.  I guess all of our pistols were defective since everyone knows handguns’ only purpose is to kill people.

It was a lot of fun, regardless of how the scores turn out plus I won one of the door prizes – a Brass Wizard.  I’ll let you know how well it works after I’ve had a chance to put it through its paces.

UPDATE:

I received the results from the match.  I didn’t hit my goal for the rankings either.

  • 8th of 12 for my Division/Classification
  • 110th of 135 for semi-automatic shooters overall.

Not even close, but about what I expected.  I’ll just have to keep practicing for next year.

Entry filed under: Firearms. Tags: .

Indiana State IDPA Match TODAY ! ! ! I don’t know where she gets it …


Archive


