Missed It By That Much…

October 24, 2009 at 4:53 pm

Last weekend I tested some 9mm cast reloads with success at 5-7 yards, so I reloaded 200 more to practice for next Saturday’s State IDPA match.  I went to Atlanta Conservation Club today though it was misting rain and windy.  The wind kept blowing over my target stands and the rain was just enough to make practice difficult.

I paced off 10 yards from the target and snapped off 6 rounds – 2 per target.  Imagine my surprise when 2 of the rounds had keyholed.  I finished off the magazine and had 2 more keyholes, so I reloaded and moved to 5 yards from the target.  All the rounds were nice and clean.  Back to 10 yards and 30% of the rounds keyholed.  Arghhhhhhh!!

After talking with a friend about it, he suggested that I might be throwing the lead right at the sonic barrier which could cause it to tumble.  I’ll reload some rounds with an additional 0.3 grains and some with 0.3 grains less to test his theory.  In either case, I won’t be shooting cast reloads in the match next weekend.

I had one box of commercial ammo with me so I did get in a little practice.  I also got to try out my new Kel-Tec P3AT, so the trip wasn’t a total loss.

The Kel-Tec is pretty sweet.  The sights are nearly nonexistent, but at 5 yards I had no trouble keeping all 6 rounds on a 4×6 index card.  At 10 yards they all stayed within a 9″ paper plate.  The 380 acp isn’t a powerful cartridge, but in this little pistol 3 dozen rounds was plenty for a range session.  The recoil didn’t hurt my hand, but the tip of my index finger felt like it’d been stung by a bee.  I’ll try to modify my grip a bit next time.

Entry filed under: Firearms. Tags: .

Two Weeks to the State IDPA Match Disappointed in Lock N’ Load


Archive


