Two Weeks to the State IDPA Match

October 17, 2009 at 10:46 pm 2 comments

The State IDPA Match is only two weeks away.  I only started IDPA (or any other shooting competition) back in June, so this will be my first state match.  So far in the club matches, I’ve been pretty much in the middle of the pack.  My goal for this match is to maintain accuracy.

Atlanta Conservation Club (see links) had a State Steel Challenge match today, but since I’ve only shot steel once, I decided to head over to the Fall Creek Valley Conservation Club for some solo practice.  Usually I use a stack of paper plates for targets, but today I had a better idea.  I stopped at Meijer and bought a package of 4″x6″ index cards.  I figure they should be about the same size as the A zone on the IDPA target and a pack of 100 was only a dollar.  I also picked up a pack of post-it notes for more challenging targets.

I shot some new reloads today – 147 gr 9 mm S&S cast lead bullets.  I’d stayed away from cast bullets until now, but then I’ve only been reloading for two years.  I loaded 100 of them with some Wolf small pistol primers and another 100 with CCI primers for comparison.  The Wolf primers were the only ones I could find online lately and I’ve only used them for a few hundred cartridges, but I’ve had a few rounds that required multiple strikes to fire.  Today was a heads up test for the Wolf vs CCI.

I couldn’t draw from the holster at FCVCC so I started from low ready position, targeting 3-5 index cards, then back to low ready for a second string.  All shots were taken at 7 yards.  As you would expect, accuracy was pretty good for two-handed grip, okay for strong hand and needed a lot of work for weak hand.  I burned through 200 rounds in less than an hour.  I had 2 rounds with Wolf primers fail to fire on the first attempt though both fired an the second try.  I had no failures from the CCI, so I’ll be using the last of my CCI primers to load up for the match.

A good day at the range.

Entry filed under: Firearms. Tags: .

The Advantage of a Pistol in the Same Caliber as your Rifle Missed It By That Much…

2 Comments

  • 1. Did it my way  |  October 19, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Re-coil thearphy at it’s finest. Range days are always good. Good luck for your match.

    See Ya

  • 2. Brigid  |  October 23, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Now that the gang seems to be over the flu, we’re going to have to trek north to scout out deer camp. Let me know your schedule.
    (and if you can talk your bride into coming along).

    B.


Archive


