The Advantage of a Pistol in the Same Caliber as your Rifle

October 9, 2009 at 9:45 pm

I posted a bit about this in the comments to this post over at Tam’s.

Last year I bought a nice new Marlin 1894 in .357 mag to enjoy the new Indiana deer hunting regulations.  I grew up with pistols and rifles so I don’t have a lot of experience with scatterguns which is all the old regs would allow.

So in November 2008, I sat in the cold rain on opening morning without seeing any prey.  As the morning drew to a close, my buddy and I met at the car to head back to camp for lunch.  Since the campground frowns on loaded firearms, I began to clear my rifle when the lever came off in my hand.  Unlike a Winchester which uses a press-fit pin as a pivot, my Marlin uses a shoulder bolt – or at least it did.  I searched the ground in vain for 20 minutes before abandoning the search.

This year I will be carrying a .357 pistol to supplement my rifle (though the replacement shoulder bolt was installed with Loc-Tite).  As Tam says, “two is one and one is none.”

Entry filed under: Firearms. Tags: .

Movie Review: Night Of The Living Dead – 1990 (* *) Two Weeks to the State IDPA Match


Archive


