Remembering 9/11

September 11, 2009 at 11:30 pm 1 comment

911 raise the flag

My oldest daughter started asking questions about 9/11 during our dinner out tonight, so when we returned home and after my younger daughter went upstairs, the three of us watched the dvd CNN Tribute America Remembers The Events of September 11 and America’s Response.     I purchased it several years ago and have only managed to watch bits and pieces since.  It was difficult to sit through this evening, but she needs to understand what happened that day and why it is still important.

The dvd maintains a major focus on CNN personnel and the effect 9/11 had on them.  Highlights of their coverage is interspersed with the commentary.  Daughter had heard stories of people leaping to their death and the dvd did include some of that footage.  In fact, the dvd was surprisingly candid and non-political, focusing on the horror of the attack and its aftermath.

While watching it, my wife and I added comments of where we were and what it was like on the day of the attack.  Other details not in the dvd returned even though I hadn’t thought of them for many years.  Like the comments about the clear skies over NYC and not understanding how the first hit could have happened.  Few people seemed to imagine it could have been anything other than an accident until the second plane hit.  I remember sitting at work watching CNN from just before the second collision until the first tower fell.  Little work was done that day, or the next.

Remembering the unity and common purpose of those early days, I feel great frustration and anger at the political infighting and denial that’s since become routine.  Truthers, M. Moore, ANSWER and the rest are pigs.  To use Liberal Logic (an oxymoron):  Bin Laden and Al Queda are victims of a sick culture whereas our erstwhile countrymen have no excuse.

PS – I apologize for the cartoon that appeared here earlier.  I scheduled it last weekend without realizing it would appear today.  That oversight has been corrected.

Entry filed under: Other. Tags: .

Parenthood Guess Where I Went Today?

1 Comment

  • 1. Brigid  |  September 12, 2009 at 8:17 am

    I don’t post about it, don’t talk much about it. Saw too much, too up close. The scent of destruction never did fully leave my memory.

    Thank you for teaching your daughters, so the next generation does not forget.


Archive


