Public Perception

August 18, 2009 at 7:36 am

Last April, my in-laws were visiting.  While my wife and mother-in-law went shopping, my father-in-law and I stayed home with the kids.  I turned on the tv to watch Shooting USA on the Outdoor Channel.  That particular episode had a segment on Evil Black Rifles and my father-in-law grimaced and stated that no one needed one those assault rifles.

Now this stunned me.  He had been a life-long hunter until his knees started going out and was a veteran from Vietnam.  I knew he supported the 2nd amendment and gun ownership.  I had to ask him what he meant.

“I shot those in Vietnam.  No one needs an automatic weapon!”

I explained to him that those ARs were no different fromthe Ruger mini-14 that he had back home (semi-automatic).  Then I explained the 1934 National Firearms Act that regulated automatic weapons and the 1986 Hughes Amendment limiting the sell of automatic weapons to civilians. I also explained that the 1994 Assault Weapons Ban hadn’t effected automatic weapons at all.

He didn’t believe me at first.  After all, he reads the daily paper front page to last, every day.  He was informed and experienced – or so he thought.

This is what we’re facing.  The Propaganda has insinuated itself into the the public perception on guns.  Even when discussing firearms with fellow enthusiasts, we must ensure that the facts are widely known.

Entry filed under: Firearms, Politics. Tags: .

Just Say NO to Public Transportation Movie Review: Night of the Living Dead 3D ( no stars)


Archive


