Movie Review: The Orphan

August 1, 2009 at 11:05 pm

Took my 13 y/o daughter to see The Orphan tonight, per her request.  She’s pretty mature for her age and has started enjoying scary movies.  Her girlfriend wouldn’t see this with her, so it was just the 2 of us.

Summary of her review:  she will let me pick the movies from now on.

Summary of my review:  Very creepy, well-made scary movie.  Nice use of musical clues to misdirect.  Didn’t fall for the normal tropes, but through in a few just so you never knew what to expect.  Some of the subject matter made it an tad embarassing for a girl to see with her dad.  I don’t want to give anything away, but there was a nice twist that I didn’t see coming (and I’m pretty jaded).

Did see several previews, including (in descending order of interest):  Surrogates, The Book of Eli, Whiteout and Jennifer’s Body.

Entry filed under: Movies/TV, Reviews. Tags: .

BUG Match New Apple iPhone


Archive


