Success! I didn’t embarass myself

June 24, 2009 at 10:49 pm

On June 6th, I went to my first International Defensive Pistol Association (www.idpa.com) tournament.  A total of 49 men and women showed up and shot around 100 rounds of ammunition apiece.  Apparently, all of our evil handguns were defective because no deaths or injuries occurred despite the 5000 bullets flying downrange.  A good time was had by all.

I also met Caleb from Gun Nuts Media.  I’ve read his writings for a couple of years now, starting back in the day with “What Would John Wayne Do?.”  So meeting him was a real pleasure.  Thanks to the Atlanta Conservation Club (http://www.eteamz.com/atlantaconservationclub) for hosting the event.

And the results?  In my division (stock service pistol – unclassified), I was dead center at 7th out of 14 with no procedural errors.  My accuracy was not as good as I’d expected, but it was considerably harder than just shooting at paper.

I’ll just have to do better next time.

Entry filed under: Firearms. Tags: .

Stop Trying To Spend All Our Money Silver Lining


Archive


